Freedom

Oh my God!!!!! This!!!!

ZHANGAH STUDIO - ART & PROCESS

Based on the story of Rapunzel, Freedom is the sixth piece in the Dystopian Fairy Tale series. I originally wanted to go with a sci-fi theme that expressed my weariness of the condos that are quickly populating the skyline around me. I had imaged an urban environment that was inspired by Ghost in the Shell (the 1995 anime), more specifically the scene where Motoko Kusanagi stands on top of a building overlooking the streets of the city from a bird’s eye view. Unfortunately the urban, sci-fi Rapunzel concept didn’t quite pan out because I think I was forcing my point of view into an illustration rather than leaving room for interpretation.  

It was back to the drawing board and I asked myself, what is the core emotion that I’m trying to convey and how does this relate to Rapunzel? I wanted to capture the mixed feelings of awe…

View original post 200 more words

Leave a Reply

